ANGEL CAKE

sliced4
Very light, very tasty
Very light, very tasty

This cake is in a league all of its own. It has no rival. Using egg whites and no butter makes this is a healthy cake, low in cholesterol and virtually fat-free. But if your wings have been clipped and you are feeling a little less angelic and a little more decadent, well then there are all types of sauces and juicy little bits that can be added. Today I am going to use strawberries and whipped cream.

When I was a young boy, I remember asking my mother if I could bake a cake. It was the first time I can remember wanting to bake anything. My mom said sure no problem and added that she would gladly help. What type of cake would I like to make my mom asked, after a second’s pause I grabbed a chair pulled it towards the kitchen counter and proceeded to use it as a ladder to get to the work surface.

Once on top I instinctively reached for the cookbooks that scattered along the top of the cupboards. Excitedly I clambered down the little obstacle course I just made. As I scanned through the pages I noticed immediately that everything began with A. This was going to be a problem seeing as cake starts with C.

However as I turned the next page I saw this beauty before my eyes. I heard my mother gasp something about “12 egg whites” and some other words. It’s not a cake you would normally like to cut your teeth with, but that ladies and gentlemen, was the start of my love affair with not only Angel cake but baking. I think the year was 1985.

sliced2

Preparation Time: 35 mins
Cooking Time: 35-40 mins
Oven Temp:  180º C
Difficulty Factor: 4 / 10
Messiness Factor: 4 / 10
Taste Factor: 10 / 10
Visual Appeal Factor: 8 /10
Cost Factor: 1 /10

INGREDIENTS

1 Cup cake flour
12 large egg whites
1.5 Cups castor sugar
1 Tablespoon cream of tartar
1.5 Tablespoons vanilla essence
1 Tablespoon almond essence
Canned strawberries
Whipped cream

PREPARATION

Preheat oven to 180°C

Sift the flour and ¾ of the sugar into a small bowl and put aside.

As I mentioned earlier this cake uses 12 large egg whites, so the first thing you are going to want to do is separate your eggs. Below is a little diagram that shows you a hack on how to do this easily, alternatively I have shared a clip that thoroughly explains this food hack.

eggs seperating

Once you have your separated eggs put them in a large mixing bowl and mix them until they form fluffy white peaks. Add remaining sugar, cream of tartar, vanilla and almond essence. Mix for a further minute.

PS. If you dont have castor sugar just put some normal sugar in the blender.

Now very slowly sift the flour onto the egg whites and fold it in using a rubber spatula. By slowly I mean splitting the flour into 8 portions. Be careful when folding the flour into the egg, you want to maintain all the air in your cake mixture, to make it rise.

Gently spoon your cake mix into a baking pan with removable bottom. Smooth over the top with a spatula. Place in the oven for 35 -40 minutes until golden brown.

Now the only negative thing I have to say about this cake is that you will have to now leave your cake in the baking tin and inverted for an hour. It’s like buying a new car off the showroom floor and being told you have to wait and hour before you can  take it out for a drive….It’s just not cricket..

Once it has cooled slice it in half, and spread on the whipped cream and strawberry on the bottom half replace the top. Sprinkle some icing sugar  over the top and serve.

collage


Leave a Reply

